Author Matthew Baker at Berkley Library, Sat., May 2!

c350baa68c7885ec9c41432bdd12e262Author and Michigan native Matthew Baker will be appearing at the Berkley Public Library (3155 Coolidge Hwy, Berkley, MI 48072) on Saturday, May 2 from 10:30-11:30am to promote the release of his debut novel for young readers, If you Find This. This event is free and open to the public and co-sponsored by Book Beat. Books will be available for purchase at the event. For more information, please call (248) 968-1190. A poster for this event that can be downloaded and shared can be found here: Matthew Baker Poster

Taking place in Michigan and mixing mystery and adventure in the tradition of Louis Sachar, Avi, and E.L. Konigsburg, If You Find This is the story of unlikely friendships, unexpected bravery and eleven-year-old Nicholas Funes’s quest to prove his grandfather’s treasure is real.

“Smugglers caves, graveyards, ghost houses, seances, and…maps come together to make an intriguing mystery for the group to solve as the characters wrestle with their past selves in hopes of a better future. The story is enhanced with musical and mathematical notations (terms like “forte” and “piano” appear as subscript throughout, modifying actions and dialogue), giving readers a glimpse into Nicholas’s impressive brain and adding an unusual layer of interest and beauty to debut author Baker’s storytelling.”—Publishers Weekly

Matthew Baker‘s stories have appeared in American Short Fiction, New England Review, The Kenyon Review, and Best of the Net, and been shortlisted in Best American Short Stories. He has held creative writing fellowships through the Fulbright Commission, the MacDowell Colony, and Vanderbilt University, among others. He was born and lives in Michigan. If You Find This is his first novel.
, , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *