Favorite Young Adult Books, 2013

Book Beat hours are Mon-Fri. 10 am-8 pmSat. 10 am-7pm, Sun. 12-5pm, closed Christmas Eve at 5 pm, closed Christmas and New Years Day. Support your local bookstores, schools, libraries and museums. *It matters. Book Beat is located here. Join the discussion on Facebook. Have a Healthy and Terrific Holiday season!

InvisiblityInvisiblity

“…the collaboration of Levithan and Cremer creates a seamless narrative that, after a slow start, picks up appreciably as answers begin to emerge right up to the equivocal ending that suggests a sequel. And that’s good news for the many readers who will be left eagerly waiting for the story to continue. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: With two New York Times best-selling authors behind it, this title will almost sell itself, but a major marketing push has already generated anticipation well beyond the collaborators’ already vast fan base.” Grades 9-12. –Michael Cart, Booklist

The Midnight Dress

The Midnight Dress

“Atmospheric, lyric and unexpected.”  –Starred ReviewKirkus Reviews, September 1, 2013

“The casual beauty of the language and the complex storytelling style create a haunting, atmospheric novel about friendship, betrayal, and loss.”  —Starred ReviewPublishers Weekly, September 9, 2013

“Foxlee (The Anatomy of Wings, 2009) depicts the depths of affection and the threat of loss and creates a mystical, macabre work that won’t be quickly forgotten.” Grades 10-12  – Booklist

The Clockwork Scarab The Clockwork Scarab

“The mishmash of popular tropes (steampunk! vampires! Sherlock Holmes!) will bring readers in, but it’s the friendship between the two girls that will keep them.”-Kirkus Reviews
“Charming, addicting, and oh-so-much-fun! I absolutely couldn’t put it down!”-Kristi Cook, author of Haven

“The Clockwork Scarab is lots of fun. Plenty of action mixes with a hint of romance, and the ancient Egyptian overlay adds atmosphere.” — Booklist

 

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic NovelMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel

“I hadn’t read the original prose novel before diving into the graphic novel, so I can’t speak to whether it lives up to the mood set by its source material, but the graphic novel version of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was a fast-paced, entertaining read that was just creepy enough to be engaging, but not so over-the-top supernatural as to be just another cloying and annoying ‘let’s write a kinda sexy YA story about vampires and monsters and stuff!” book.

If you’re not familiar with this story, here’s a quick summary. Modern day teen Jacob grew up listening to his grandfather’s seemingly fanciful tales of his childhood spent at a very unusual boarding school, where some of his friends could levitate, turn invisible or were super strong. (No, this is not the X-Men, silly).” —Manga Comics.com

 

March (Book One)March (Book One)

“Congressman John Lewis has been a resounding moral voice in the quest for equality for more than 50 years, and I’m so pleased that he is sharing his memories of the Civil Rights Movement with America’s young leaders. In March, he brings a whole new generation with him across the Edmund Pettus Bridge, from a past of clenched fists into a future of outstretched hands.” – President Bill Clinton

“Superbly told history.” – Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Dazzling… a grand work.” – Booklist (starred review)

 

Counting by 7s

Counting by 7s

A Kids’ Indie Next List Top Ten Book– #4, Best Books of Autumn 2013. B.E.A. Buzz Book Award 2013. Texas Bluebonnet Award Nominee 2014-2015 Master List. A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year.

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

“Sloan (I’ll Be There, 2011) has masterfully created a graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet—but never cloying—lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss. Grades 7-10”. –Sarah Hunter, Booklist

 

The Vine BasketThe Vine Basket

A powerful intergenerational story of a strong, creative young artist in a cruelly oppressive society. Perfect gift for grades 5-8.

“The realistic and satisfying resolution will resonate with readers, even as they learn the fascinating details of an unfamiliar culture. An endnote and afterword provide valuable historical background. An absorbing read and an excellent choice for expanding global understanding.-Marie Orlando, School Library Journal

 

The Thing About LuckThe Thing About Luck

“Readers may skim the more arcane aspects of the labor-intensive work, focusing instead on the emotionally rich and often humorous dynamics of Summer’s relationship with her old-fashioned but endearing grandparents and her troubled younger brother. Another engaging novel from the Newbery Medal–winning Kadohata. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: With the blogosphere already starting to buzz, and author appearances and web promotions planned, Kadohata’s already sizable audience will likely increase with this title.” Grades 4-8. –Michael Cart, Booklist

“Fans of Kadohata’s Kira-Kira (S & S, 2004) will welcome this similarly gentle, character-driven exploration of familial bonds, this time set in the contemporary Midwest.” –SBJ

 

When the Butterflies Came

When the Butterflies Came

“Little explores the extremes of childhood guilt and its consequences in this harsh yet well-crafted story about fully drawn people. The bayou, with its rich culture, is an atmospheric character that overlays the story with mystery and dread. A special offering for readers seeking a challenge of the heart as well as the mind.” –BOOKLIST

“Readers will revel in the literary journey through a rare and unusual way of life.”
–BULLETIN OF THE CENTER FOR CHILDREN’S BOOKS

, , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *